Logo
Ibrahima Ndome - Atelier Ndokette
laureat
Ibrahima Ndome - Atelier Ndokette

Ibrahima Ndome (Dakar), Sa Niang (Conakry/Paris), and Souleymane Bachir Diaw (Dakar/Paris) are part of the Atelier Ndokette collective. They have been working together since 2019 and use photography and fashion design as their main mediums. Beyond a clothing tradition, Ndokette is a Senegalese word that refers to a tunic which represents the cultural Senegalese heritage traveling across the eras. The collective questions this temporality notion through experimentations.

Living between Dakar, Paris and Conakry, the collective has been firstly a place of conversations around their own contemporary socio-cultural ecosystems of which the complexity and the issues are growthing. Photographs, videos and performances attest to these experiences focused on the present moment research in full consciousness, freed from a recalled past and an idealized future. The collective represents a laboratory of ideas, concepts and solutions.

Instagram @atelierndokette @ibrahima.kewe.ndome

 

Ndokette Session, 2019

« Ndokette Session » is a multidisciplinary project which involves photography, video and performance. It mades of a photography series and a short film. This project was born from the curiosity to the word “Ndokette”. This word and what it refers to are part of the cultural Senegalese heritage and more broadly African. This curiosity has been fostered to understand the origin of this word, this object. It’s from this reflexion that the three artists have decided to represent the way that this word and the sociocultural phenomenons mean for them, for us.

« We have tried to observe the around us environment with attention; our multiple, audacious and surprising reality. “Ndokette Session” becomes an initiatic quest focus on a “personal” and “collective” introspection. Across these images, we want to initiate questions for people about the present. » As a matter of fact in some place in the world, people identify the past like traumatic or misunderstood and the future like idealized and externalized. Atelier Ndokette highlights the present like a temporality which deserves more attention: a present which reveals the conscient and the unconscious, the real and unreal with multiple nuances.

Thus, the collective has chosen to represent people in some place at an exact moment across different steps of life. They use the concepts that refer to rituals to recall its importance. To put life in perspective, “Ndokette Session” wants to interrogate about beliefs and feelings: it questions to build and to make a transition, not to destroy. It’s a call to manage imaginary again; not to dream it, to fetishize it, consume it but to live it fully, to produce it, embrace it.

See the collective's website

  • And, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Jamil, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 3, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 1, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 7, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 4, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 8, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 10, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 15, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 19, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g

Logo
Ibrahima Ndome - Atelier Ndokette
laureat
Ibrahima Ndome - Atelier Ndokette

Ibrahima Ndome (Dakar), Safi Niang (Conakry/Paris), et Souleymane Bachir Diaw (Dakar/Paris) sont les membres du collectif Atelier Ndokette. Ils travaillent ensemble depuis 2019 et utilisent la photographie et le stylisme comme principaux médiums. Ndokette, mot sénégalais désignant une tunique, représente pour le collectif, au-delà d’une tradition vestimentaire, un marqueur du patrimoine culturel sénégalais voyageant à travers les époques. Il questionne cette notion de temporalité au travers d’expérimentations.

Résidant entre Dakar, Paris et Conakry, le collectif a d’abord constitué un lieu de conversations autour de leurs écosystèmes socio-culturels contemporains dont la complexité et les enjeux sont croissants. Photographies, vidéos et performances témoignent de ces expériences tournées autour de la recherche du moment présent en pleine conscience, libéré d’un passé rappelé et d’un futur idéalisé. Le collectif représente un laboratoire d’idées, de concepts et de solutions.

Instagram @atelierndokette @ibrahima.kewe.ndome

 

Ndokette Session, 2019

“Ndokette Session” est un projet multidisciplinaire alliant photographie, vidéo et performance. Il se compose d’une série de photos et d’un court métrage. Ce projet est né de la curiosité pour le mot “Ndokette”. Ce mot et ce qu’il détermine font partie du patrimoine culturel sénégalais, et plus largement africain. Cette curiosité a donc été nourrie afin de comprendre l’origine de ce mot, de cet objet, ce vêtement particulier. C’est à partir de ces recherches que les trois artistes ont voulu dépeindre la manière dont ce mot et les phénomènes socioculturels résonnent en eux, en nous.

« Nous avons essayé d’observer avec attention ce qui nous entoure ; notre réalité multiple, audacieuse et surprenante. “Ndokette Session” devient ainsi une quête initiatique axée sur une introspection « personnelle » mais aussi « collective ». A travers ces images, nous souhaitons initier une remise en question chez les gens, les amener à questionner leur présent. » En effet, dans certaines parties du monde, on a généralement tendance à se rappeler d’un “passé” traumatisant ou incompris et à visualiser un “futur” idéalisé et extériorisé. Atelier Ndokette place donc le présent comme une temporalité méritant plus d’attention : un présent qui révèle le conscient et l’inconscient, le réel et l’irréel avec de multiples nuances.

Ainsi, le collectif a choisi de représenter des personnes, dans une certaine zone géographique à un moment précis, traversant différentes étapes de la vie. Pour ce faire, il utilise les concepts liés aux rituels afin de rappeler leur importance. En mettant ainsi la vie en perspective, “Ndokette Session” vise à mettre un point d’interrogation sur les croyances et les sentiments : il remet en question, non pas pour détruire, mais pour construire et faire une transition. C’est aussi un appel à maîtriser à nouveau l’imaginaire ; ne pas le rêver, ni le fétichiser, ni le consommer mais le vivre pleinement, le produire, l’embrasser.

Voir le site du collectif

  • And, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Jamil, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 3, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 1, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 7, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 4, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 8, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 10, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 15, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g
  • Untitled 19, Photo, impression sur papier d’archive Hahnemühle PhotoRag 308g