Logo
Keren Lasme
Keren Lasme

Keren Lasme is a multidisciplinary artist and independent researcher based in Abidjan. After studying African philosophy, Keren Lasme’s artistic work focuses on ideas, thoughts and states of mind, mostly related to the material and immaterial contexts of the continent’s cultures. The artist attempts to visually retranscribe a deep exploration of the Self and of the inner landscapes specific to each person through photography, collage, drawing, video or writing. Her work shows what we do not see, what transcends the purely visual aspect. She highlights the beauty and mystery of these fragments or details of the invisible that spring up beyond the representation of the subject in itself as coming from the perception of the mind.

Instagram @angnm__

 

White I, White is for the spirit world, 2019, photography, 29,7 x 42 cm

This series of black and white portraits was taken in the town of Grand-Bassam during the “Abissa”. It’s a cultural festival that celebrates the new year for the Nzima, the Akan people of Ivory Coast. This ceremony includes dance, music and other traditional rites. The artist transposes here a peaceful aspect contrasted with this tumultuous event where works of the spirit cross through the spiritual practices that emerge from these relaxed portraits.

Untitled I, Visual reverie, 2020 – ongoing, digital collage, 14 x 9 cm

The digital collage is for the artist an exploration of the subconscious by selecting random images that she associates to create enigmatic sets. This practise stimulates the mind that mysteriously always finds a meaning.

Untitled I, Beneath our skin lies the sun, 2019, photography, 29,7 x 42 cm

This series highlights the humanism of these women without focusing  on their skin, whose beauty and harmony she claims.

I close my eyes and i begin to see, Visual reverie, 2020 – ongoing, digital collage, 14 x 9 cm

Unable to experiment photography during the lock down period, Keren Lasme initiated herself into digital collage using fragments of images that she found online without any specific purpose. By associating it, she creates sets that evoke many stories and references that the subconscious miraculously translates.

Untitled V, Encounter with ancestral divinities, 2019, photography, 90 x 97 cm

Produced in Ouidah, Benin, Keren Lasme captures a series of photos taken during a religious ceremony. The details and the offbeat shots evoke another dimension of reality. Traces of gold are then deposited on the printed photos exacerbating this transcendent reality and invoking the divine.

Untitled V, Encounter with ancestral divinities

See the artist's website

  • Processed with VSCO with b6 preset
    White I, White is for the Spirit World
  • Untitled I
    Untitled I, Visual Reverie
  • Untitled I
    Untitled I, Beneath our skin lies the sun
  • I close my eyes and I begin to see
    I close my eyes and I begin to see, Visuel reverie

Logo
Keren Lasme
Keren Lasme

Keren Lasme est une artiste multidisciplinaire et chercheuse indépendante ivoirienne basée à Abidjan. Après des études en philosophie africaine, Keren Lasme oriente son travail artistique autour des idées, pensées et états d’esprit majoritairement en lien avec les contextes matériels et immatériels des cultures du continent. L’artiste tente de retranscrire visuellement à travers la photographie, le collage, le dessin, la vidéo ou encore l’écriture une exploration profonde du Moi et des paysages intérieurs propres à chacun c’est à dire ce que l’on ne voit pas, ce qui transcende l’aspect purement visuel. Elle met en exergue la beauté et le mystère de ces fragments ou détails de l’invisible qui finissent par jaillir au-delà de la représentation du sujet en lui-même, relevant de la perception de l’esprit.

Instagram @angnm__

 

White I, White is for the spirit world, 2019, photographie, 29,7 x 42 cm

Cette série de portraits en noir et blanc a été réalisé dans la ville de Grand-Bassam lors de l’ « Abissa », fête culturelle qui célèbre le nouvel an pour les Nzima, peuple Akan de Côte d’Ivoire. Cette cérémonie regroupe la danse, la musique et autres rites traditionnels. L’artiste transpose ici un aspect serein mis en contraste de cet évènement tumultueux où se croisent des œuvres de l’esprit à travers les pratiques spirituelles qui ressortent de ces portraits apaisés.

Untitled I, Visual reverie, 2020 – ongoing, collage digital, 14 x 9 cm

Le collage digital est pour l’artiste une exploration du subconscient en sélectionnant de manière hasardeuse des images qu’elle associe pour créer des ensembles énigmatiques stimulant l’esprit y trouvant mystérieusement toujours un sens.

Untitled I, Beneath our skin lies the sun, 2019, photographie, 29,7 x 42 cm

Cette série met en avant l’humanisme de ces femmes sans faire de focus clichés sur leur peau dont elle revendique la beauté et l’harmonie.

I close my eyes and i begin to see, Visual reverie, 2020 – ongoing, collage digital, 14 x 9 cm

Faute de pouvoir expérimenter sa pratique de la photographie durant la période de confinement, Keren Lasme s’initie au collage digital en utilisant des fragments d’images qu’elle trouve au fil de recherches sur la toile sans but précis. En les associant, elle créée des ensembles qui finissent par évoquer à chacun de nombreuses histoires et références que le subconscient traduit miraculeusement.

Untitled V, Encounter with ancestral divinities, 2019, photographie, 90 x 97 cm

Réalisée à Ouidah au Bénin, Keren Lasme capture une série de photos réalisée lors d’une cérémonie religieuse dont les détails et les prises de vue décalés évoquent une autre dimension de la réalité. Des traces d’or sont ensuite déposées sur les photos imprimées exacerbant cette réalité transcendée invoquant le divin.

Untitled V, Encounter with ancestral divinities

Voir le site de l'artiste

  • Processed with VSCO with b6 preset
    White I, White is for the Spirit World
  • Untitled I
    Untitled I, Visual Reverie
  • Untitled I
    Untitled I, Beneath our skin lies the sun
  • I close my eyes and I begin to see
    I close my eyes and I begin to see, Visuel reverie