Logo
Linda Dounia Rebeiz
Linda Dounia Rebeiz

Linda Dounia Rebeiz is a Senegalese transdisciplinary artist. Through her artistic practice, she questions and heals from the influence of power structures, explores experiences of pain, and imagines possible futures. Her artistic practice highlights the power structures that affect black women’s identities and bodies and determine their relationship to freedom. The artist uses several disciplines, including visual and digital art, poetry, and experimental music production. She is also one of the 20 board members of the recently launched crypto-art platform Artano.

Instagram @sandwyrmdance

 

Everyone’s home today, Home, 2019

“Home” is a reflection on what shapes our understanding of freedom: who gets to feel free, who gets to feel at home, whether in their own skin or wherever they are in the world. The artist asks herself when the pandemic lockdowns took effect. She wondered how many of us truly felt at home in our homes and in ourselves.

Permission to be man, Planes of resistance, 2020

“Planes of resistance” is a visual empathy experiment which pairs paintings, sound production, and poetry to exploring how the bodies of black women are affected  by patriarchal power structures. In this project, the artist focuses on experiences, expressions of pain and trauma on the physical embodiment.

Emancipation, Deparenting, 2021

This project is a reflection of the societal norms cemented during parenting, especially relating to gender and power norms. In this project, she explores her parenting to surface damaging norms that she has internalized and seek healing from them.

Rise, The Defiant Ones, 2021

This is an exploration of the cost of defiance for black women. In the patriarchal modus vivendi, those who stray from the idea of the stoic, obedient, resilient paradigm of womanhood are cast away from society, often violently. This voilence takes the form of physical or emotion abuse and gradually erasure. The works will be minted as NFTs on Artano, an environmentally sustainable art market built on the Cardano blockchain. It has been exhibited also on the blockchain network Foundation.

Femme nue, Playthings, 2021

This series is a visual meditation on the appropriation of the female black form by popular culture. In this project, the artist contrasts the feminist perspectives of the female black form with patriarchal/consumerist perspectives.

Femme nue, Playthings

See the artist's website

  • Everyone's home today, Home
  • Permission to be man, Planes of resistance
  • Emancipation, Deparenting
  • Rise, The defiant ones

Logo
Linda Dounia Rebeiz
Linda Dounia Rebeiz

Linda Dounia Rebeiz est une artiste transdisciplinaire sénégalaise. A travers sa pratique artistique, elle interroge l’influence des structures de pouvoir, explore les expériences de la douleur, et imagine des futurs possibles. Sa pratique artistique met en évidence les structures de pouvoir qui affectent l’identité et le corps des femmes noires et qui déterminent leur relation à la liberté. L’artiste s’épanouit à l’intersection de plusieurs disciplines, notamment l’art visuel et digital, la poésie, ainsi que la production musicale expérimentale. Elle est l’une des 20 membres du conseil de la plateforme crypto-art Artano récemment lancée.

Instagram @sandwyrmdance

 

Everyone’s home today, Home, 2019

« Home » est une réflexion sur ce qui façonne notre compréhension de la liberté : qui peut se sentir libre, qui peut se sentir chez lui, que ce soit dans sa propre peau ou où qu’il soit dans le monde. L’artiste s’est questionné lorsque les confinements liés à la pandémie ont été mis en place : « combien d’entre nous se sentaient vraiment chez eux dans leur maison et en eux-mêmes ».

Permission to be man, Planes of Resistance, 2020

« Planes of Resistance » est une expérience d’empathie visuelle qui associe peintures, production sonore et poésie pour explorer comment les corps des femmes noires sont assignées par les structures de pouvoir patriarcales. Dans ce projet, l’artiste se concentre sur les expériences, les expressions de la douleur et du traumatisme sur l’incarnation physique.

Emancipation, Deparenting, 2021

Ce projet amène à réfléchir au sujet des normes sociétales transmises pendant l’éducation des enfants, notamment en ce qui concerne les normes de genre et de pouvoir. Linda Dounia Rebeiz explore son rôle de parent pour mettre en évidence les normes préjudiciables qu’elle a elle-même intériorisé et cherché à en guérir.

Rise, The Defiant Ones, 2021

Cette série est une exploration de la défiance envers les femmes noires. Dans le modus vivendi patriarcal, celles qui s’éloignent de l’idée du paradigme stoïque, obéissant et résilient de la féminité sont rejetées de la société, souvent violemment. Cette violence prend la forme d’abus physiques ou émotionnels et d’un effacement progressif. Les œuvres sont monnayées en tant que NFTs sur Artano, un marché de l’art écologiquement durable, construit sur la blockchain Cardano. Elles ont été également exposées sur le réseau de la blockchain Foundation.

Femme nue, Playthings, 2021

Cette série est une méditation visuelle sur l’appropriation de la forme féminine noire par la culture populaire. Dans ce projet, l’artiste oppose les perspectives féministes de la forme noire féminine aux perspectives patriarcales/consuméristes.

Femme nue, Playthings

Voir le site de l'artiste

  • Everyone's home today, Home
  • Permission to be man, Planes of resistance
  • Emancipation, Deparenting
  • Rise, The defiant ones